h1

Edwardless books?

February 14, 2009

So I went to Border’s to pre-order the Twilight DVD and I actually bought a book in the vain hope that I’ll be able to actually read a book without Edward Cullen in it (which is something I haven’t done since last summer). I can barely read a blog unless he (or Rob) is mentioned. So I got “The Savage Detectives” by Roberto Bolano. It was on the NY Times topten books of 2007, and last year his book 2666 was again a top ten book. Sadly the guy’s been dead for 5 years, but he’s still churning them out. The funny thing is, the main reason I got the book is that I saw a picture of Rob Patterson at the airport with 2666 on his luggage cart, so I figured it must be a good book (no, I don’t know why).

atheathrow1

Well I picked up and browsed through 2666 and that sucker is over 900 pages. In a pretty small font. There’s no way I could commit myself to go sans Edward that long. So I got The Savage Detectives instead. I heard it’s a better book anyway. I’ll probably try to read it after I finish the Twilight saga again. I got the Twilight books in my apps on my iTouch, so I don’t even have to carry them around anymore.

Leave a Reply

